The Neuromuscular Study Group (NMSG), is a consortium of scientific investigators from academic and research centers who are committed to the cooperative planning, implementation, analysis and reporting of controlled clinical trials and of other research for muscle and other neuromuscular diseases. The NMSG aims to advance knowledge about the cause(s), pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical manifestations of muscle disease and related neuromuscular disorders and to develop and implement strategies to examine promising therapeutic interventions.

The NMSG is committed to the principles of open and full scientific communication, peer review, full disclosure of potential conflicts of interest, and democratic governance of its organization and activities. The NMSG is also interested in providing scientific and medical information to professionals and the public regarding experimental therapeutics. The NMSG began meeting in 1997 and is organized as an independent, nonprofit consortium of scientific investigators who conduct research at the institutions with which the investigators are affiliated. The NMSG strives to perform clinical trials in all of the neuromuscular diseases. Diseases studied by the NMSG have included:

  • Charcot-Marie-Tooth Disease 1A (CMT1A)
  • Dermatomyositis
  • Hyperkalemic and Hypokalemic Periodic Paralysis
  • Inclusion Body Myositis
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)

Executive Committee

The Neuromuscular Study Group Executive Committee helps to lead and coordinate the group’s efforts.

Richard Barohn, M.D.    University of Missouri

Michael Hanna, M.D.   University College of London

Immediate Past Chair
Robert Griggs, M.D.   University of Rochester School of Medicine

Investigator Members
William David, M.D., Ph.D. Massachusetts General Hospital
Michael Hehir, M.D., University of Vermont Medical Center
John Vissing, M.D., University of Copenhagen

Coordinator Member
Marie Wencel, CCRPI, UC Irvine

Evaluator Member
Melissa McIntyre, DTP   University of Utah Health

Michael McDermott, Ph.D.,  University of Rochester Medical Center

Director, NMSG Coordination Center
Rabi Tawil, M.D.   University of Rochester Medical Center

Mazen Dimachkie, M.D.,University of Kansas Medical Center


Additional NMSG Committees 

Nominating Committee
Nick Johnson, M.D.
James Lilleker, MBChB, Ph.D.

By Laws Committee
Salman Bhai, M.D.
Michael McDermott, Ph.D.
Paloma Gonzalez Perez, M.D., Ph.D.

Fellowship Committee
Michael Hehir, M.D.  Chair   University of Vermont Medical Center
Mazen Dimachkie, M.D.   University of Kansas Medical Center
Miriam Freimer, M.D.   The Ohio State University
Michael Shy, M.D.   University of Iowa
Renatta Knox, M.D., Ph.D.   Washington University

Mentoring Committee
Valeria Sansone, M.D., Ph.D
W. David Arnold, M.D.
Jeffrey Statland, M.D.
Gita Ramdharry, Ph.D.

Social Media/X
Heidi Fuller, Ph.D.